Feminist Re-Do: Blurred Lines

So here’s my problem. I can’t stop jamming to Blurred Lines. Everytime it comes on my fave top 40 station, I get a surge of embarrassingly genuine excitement. But boy is that song fucked up. It’s a misogynistic and sexually objectifying song that promotes rape culture and shits on the importance of enthusiastic consent in any and all sexual endeavors. Could you imagine this situations actually playing out at a club? Some guy comes up and tell you he wants to “give you a good f*ck” because you “look like you want it?” Uhm, cover your drinks ladies. and maybe call security.

The thing is, the song would still make me wanna shake it even if he was reading a textbook over that beat. So I thus propose these new lyrics for the song. Hope you like ‘em Mr. Thicke.

“If you can’t hear what I’m trying to say
If you can’t read from the same page
Maybe I’m going deaf  it’s dark in here
Maybe I’m going blind  not as smart
Maybe I’m out of my mind  assuming shit I really have no idea about

Ok, now he was close  an idiot
Tried to domesticate you  forget your agency
But you’re an animal thinking person
Baby, it’s in your nature  you’re not an object
Just let me liberate you ask you this
You don’t need no papers  to talk to me
That No man is not your maker  should invade your space
And that’s why I’m gon’ take a  ask a

Good girl Grown woman
I know you want it  Is this something you want?
I know you want it  Is this something you want?
I know you want it  Is this something you want?
You’re a good girl grown woman
Can’t let it get past me
You’re far from plastic  not just a sexual object
Talk about getting blasted being honest
I hate these blurred lines unfounded assumptions
I know you want it  What do you study?
I know you want it  Do you have siblings?
I know you want it  Where do you work now?
But Because you’re a good girl  real person
The way you grab me  talk to me
Must wanna get nasty be a grad student
Go ahead, get at me

What do they make dreams forget your rights for
When you got them jeans on  have a vagina
What do we need steam patriarchy for
You’re the hottest  bitch just as much a person as anyone in this place society
I feel so lucky, do you wanna hug me ?
What rhymes with   It’s okay of you don’t wanna hug me
Hey!

Ok, now he was close  dumb
Tried to domesticate you assume your desires
But you’re an animal a total stranger
Baby, it’s in your nature  I know nothing about you
Just let me liberate you  ask what you like
You don’t need no papers to tell me anything
That No man is not your maker should project sexual desires onto you
And that’s why I’m gon’ take  tell a

Good girl Grown woman
I know you want it  you deserve sexual freedom
I know you want it  we can do what you want
I know you want it  or I could go away
You’re a good girl grown woman
Can’t let it get past me ambiguous
You’re far from plastic  not just a sexual object
Talk about getting blasted being honest
I hate these blurred lines unfounded assumptions
I know you want it  do you find me attractive?
I know you want it  are you even heterosexual?
I know you want it  should I back off now?
But you’re a good girl  real person
The way you grab me  because all women
Must wanna get nasty are more than their bodies
Go ahead, get at me

Hustle Gang Enthusiatsic consent, homie
One thing I ask of you
Lemme be the one you back that ass up to to show respect for you
From Malibu Texas to Paris Ohio boo
Had a bitch, but she ain’t bad as you I watch the news and I think it’s fucked up too
So, hit me up when you pass through
I’ll give you something big enough to tear your ass in two I read on Masculinity U
Swag on ‘em even when you dress casual I don’t care how your dressed, maybe casual
I mean, it’s almost unbearable your worth isn’t equal to your appearance
In a hundred years not dare would I
Pull a Pharcyde bitch,  say ignorant shit while you’re passing me by
Nothin’ like I don’t know your last guy, he too square for you  but it’s up to you
He don’t smack that ass and pull your hair for you if you want to explore more options in your bedroom
So I’m just watching and respectfully waiting
For you to salute the truly pimping decide what you want to do
Not many women can refuse this pimping men are this considerate of a women’s desires
I’m a nice guy, but don’t get confused, you gettin it so I will be sure to always ask you

Shake your rump Employ your sexual agency
Get down, get up-a use your body how you want to
Do it like it hurt, like it hurt  its up to you, and only you
What you don’t like work and I really mean that
Hey!

Baby, can(‘t) you breathe see
I got this from Jamaica  gender privilege
It always only works for me men
Dakota to Decatur universally
No more pretending misogony
Cause now you’re never winning
Here’s our since patriarchies beginning
I always wanted a  benefited

Good girl Grown woman
I know you want it  you deserve sexual freedom
I know you want it  we can do what you want
I know you want it  or I could go away
You’re a good girl grown woman
Can’t let it get past me ambiguous
You’re far from plastic  not just a sexual object
Talk about getting blasted being honest
I hate these blurred lines unfounded assumptions
I know you want it  do you find me attractive?
I know you want it  do I have your consent?
I know you want it  should I back off now?
But you’re a good girl  real person
The way you grab me  because all women
Must wanna get nasty are more than their bodies
Go ahead, get at me

Everybody get up  consent
Everybody get up consent
Everybody get up consent
Hey, Hey, Hey
Hey, Hey, Hey
Hey, Hey, Hey”

Standard

Leave a Reply

